St. Andrew's CE (VA) Infant School

Promoting excellence within a caring, Christian community

Tel: 01484 714964 | Fax: N/A

‘St Andrew’s Junior School is OUTSTANDING in all areas.’ – Ofsted December 2022. ‘There is enough evidence of improved performance to suggest that St Andrew’s Infant School could be judged outstanding.’ – Ofsted April 2022.


School Governors are a team of people who work closely with the Headteacher to make key decisions vital to the successful running of the school. The Governors appoint the Headteacher and make decisions that directly affect the education and well-being of the children. They play an important role in improving standards throughout the school and agree the school’s budget. As a church school our Governing Body comprises foundation governors appointed by the church and other people from different walks of life. This brings a good balance of skills to move the school forward.

The new Federated Governing Board (April 2018) of St Andrew’s Infant and Junior Schools has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

The Governors meet and operate as a full Governing Board each half term. Governors also visit the school during the day to meet with the children and staff and help with other activities throughout the day. If you would like further information about their work, you can visit the school and ask to read the approved minutes of the Governing Board in school.

The Governing Body has one committee, the Pay and Resources Committee. During the 2021/22 academic year the committee membership consists of  Graham Lawley (Committee Chair),  Glenys Philips and Ian Knight.


The Governing Board at St Andrew’s Infant School has 12 members: 2 Parent Governors, 1 Staff Governor, 1 Headteacher, 7 Foundation Governors (3 Foundation Governors appointed by the Parochial Church Council for The Parish of St Martin’s Church and The Principal Officiating Minister of The Parish of St Martins). We currently have no governor vacancies.



You can contact any member of the Governing Body by letter, telephone or email:

01484 714964

The Next Election of Parent Governor

Parent Governors can be contacted through the school office. The next election of Parent Governor will take place in April 2022.

Upcoming Events

Latest News

Our Christian Value for this half term is Justice

More News

© 2023 St. Andrew's CE (VA) Infant School | School Website by Edusite | Log in